Premier Sponsor

University House, The Australian National University


O2C Solutions
O2C: Facilitating Resilience, Mental Health and Emotional Intelligence

Major Sponsor

Fairlane Canberra
Fairlane Canberra

Over 50 Years of the Doeberl Cup

The 2015 Doeberl Cup
2-6 April 2015

University House, 1 Balmain Cres, Acton ACT 2601


To keep up with the news on the 2015 Doeberl Cup, subscribe to the newsletter using the form on the right-hand side of this page.

Congratulations to all our players!

It's all over for another year! The 2015 Doeberl Cup was won by GM Zhou Weiqi from China who finished the tournament on 7.5 points. Australian GM Darryl Johansen and GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly from India were both half a point behind, in second and third places respectively.

Other prizes in the Premier division:

Fighting Fund: IM Igor Bjelobrk, GM Loek Van Wely, GM Darryl Johansen
U2000 medallion: Willis Lo
U2200: Anthony Hain
Bedi Cup (Best Australian Junior): IM Anton Smirnov (on countback from Karl Zelesco)
Best Female: WIM Zhai Mo

In the Major:

1st: David Cannon
2nd: Sarwat Rewais
3rd: Mike Duffin

U1600 medallion: Shay Keinan
U1800 medallion: Marcus Porter

In the Minor:

1st: Zoe Harrison
2nd: Oscar Herrmann
3rd: Mark Stokes

Best Unrated: George Morgan
U1200: Ziqi Yuan
U1400: Erik Jochimsen
Pooja Cup (Best Australia Junior Female): Zoe Harrison

In the Under 1200s:

1st: Angelo Feliu
2nd: Vincent Chan
3rd: 3rd: Matthew Brewer

2015 Draws & Results

Premier: Final Standings (16:25 6/4/15)

Major: Final Standings (16:25 6/4/15)

Minor: Final Standings (16:25 6/4/15)

Under 1200: Final Standings (23:00 4/4/15)

Blitz: Final Standings (23:00 4/4/15)

Welcome to our new sponsors

50 Moves Magazine


New In Chess

New Venue & Premier Sponsor for 2015

University House, The Australian National University

We are pleased to announce that the Doeberl Cup has moved to the beautiful, heritage-listed University House in Acton.

This venue combines accommodation and playing halls - book in at the University House hotel and enjoy a brief stroll to your game.

Check out all the details on the Venue page.

Cup Highlights

  • Fighting Fund Continued
  • Live Commentary from Grand Master Ian Rogers
  • New Family Rate
  • Saturday Night Lightning Tournament


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Format